Mortgage Loan Originator Application Resources
To implement the provisions of the Secure and Fair Enforcement Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act), the Department requires MLOs to:
- Submit an application through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS)
- Complete 20 hours of NMLS approved Pre-licensing Education Courses, including 3 hours of New York law;
- Pass the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test, consisting of a National Component with Uniform State Content.
- Submit a Surety Bond and Surety Bond Certification Form, upon approval of the application.
Submitting a Complete Application
The New York State Department of Financial Services accepts new Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) applications through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS). All new applications for licensure must be submitted through the online NMLS application process.
To ensure that your application is received, acknowledged as complete, and processed, please follow the instructions below. No application shall be deemed to be complete until all required information, documents, and fees have been received. If an application is determined to be incomplete, you will receive written notification identifying the items and matters that must be addressed for the Department to continue the application review process. Applicants will then have 30 days to submit missing documents before the application is considered withdrawn. Applicants who have applications withdrawn must repay applicable fees and resubmit all documentation to the Department to restart the process.
Access to NMLS
Before beginning the online application process, you will be required to register with NMLS at www.nationwidelicensingsystem.org and create a personalized user ID and password.
Note: If you already have access to NMLS, you do not need to create a new account.
In the application process, an NMLS Identification Number will be assigned to your application. Please maintain a record of this NMLS Identification Number as it will be used as your application reference number throughout the remainder of the application process. Your NMLS Identification Number must be included on every hard-copy document submitted to the Department of Financial Services.
Log on to the application section of NMLS to complete the MU4 Form. Information that must be provided on the MU4 Form includes, but is not limited to, name, date of birth, address, work experience, and financial and criminal conviction disclosures.
Note: If you have already submitted Form MU4 through NMLS for another state, you do not need to re-enter your personal information. However, you are required to provide jurisdiction-specific information to support your New York State application.
Applicants for an MLO license are required to pay the following non-refundable fees:
- Investigation fee: $125
- License fee: $254
- Fingerprint fee: $86.50
- NMLS processing fee: $30
Notice of Receipt of Application
After all required components of the application, including the hard-copy and jurisdiction-specific documents, are received by the Department of Financial Services, a notification confirming receipt will be mailed to the sponsoring entity and the individual MLO.
Please note that the notice of receipt is based on an initial review and additional materials may be requested during the processing of the application.
Note: Applicants are prohibited from engaging in mortgage loan origination activities until authorized by the Department of Financial Services.
Weekly Bulletin Publication
Applications deemed complete are published in the Department’s Weekly Bulletin every Friday.
Approval or Denial
After the application has been processed, the sponsoring entity and the individual MLO will receive written notification of the approval or denial of the application.
If the application is approved, the MLO will be required to submit a surety bond in accordance with requirements of Section 420.15 of the Superintendent’s Regulations, after which a License Certificate will be issued. A notification will be mailed to the sponsoring entity.
If the application is denied, the MLO will receive notification of denial. A notification of denial will also be mailed to the sponsoring entity.
Annual Renewal: MLO authorizations expire on December 31 each year and must be renewed annually. A renewal reminder and directions for renewing through the NMLS system will be e-mailed to all MLOs at least 60 days prior to the expiration date.
- Mortgage Loan Originator Application Instructions
- Mortgage Loan Originator Amendment Instructions
- Mortgage Loan Originator License Surrender Instructions
- MLO Education Course Providers