
INSTRUCTIONS  FOR  EXCESS  LINE  BROKER  APPLICANT 
 

Match the submission code numbers listed under the “Resident” (one who has declared New York as their Home State; Home State means the District of 
Columbia or any state or territory of the United States in which the applicant maintains his, her or its principal place of residence or principal place of 
business) or “Non-Resident” (one who has declared a state OTHER than New York as their Home State AND who is licensed or authorized in their Home 
State). 

INDIVIDUAL/TBA LICENSES WILL BE ISSUED WITH AN EXPIRATION DATE DETERMINED BY DATE OF BIRTH: 
**If you were born in an even numbered year, your license will expire on your birthday in an even numbered year. 
**If you were born in an odd numbered year, your license will expire on your birthday in an odd numbered year. 

 

 SUBMISSION CODES  FEE 
 
CODE 

DESCRIPTION 
OF  LICENSE 

INS. LAW 
SECTION 

RESIDENT NON-
RESIDENT 

OTHER REQUIREMENTS LICENSING PERIOD FULL FEE HALF FEE 

EX Excess Line 
Broker 

2105 1, 2, 3, 6 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7* Must be licensed as a BR 
(broker) under Section 2104 
**See 3 & 4  below for 
clarification  

Individual/TBA – up to 2 years from 
date of issue to Date of Birth 
Expiration** (See Note Above) 
Corresponding with qualifying BR 
license 
Entities - 2 yrs-11/1 to 10/31 of even 
years corresponding with qualifying 
BR license 

$400 or $50 
(See code 2 
below) 

$200 or $25 
(See code 2 
below) 

CODE 
 

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT CODE CHART 
1. 

 

2. 
 
 
 
 

3. 
 
 

4. 
 
 
 
 
 

5. 
 
 
 

6. 
 
 
 
 

7. 
 

Application 
 

FEE –RESIDENT - $400 or $200 if the applicant maintains an office in, or acts as an excess line broker in placing insurance on risks located in any county in this 
state having a population of 100,000 or more.  $50 or $25 in all other cases.   NON-RESIDENT - $400 OR $200.  Full fees are charged during the first year of a 
licensing period; half fees are charged during the second year.  See “Fee” columns above.  Make check payable to “Superintendent of Financial Services.”  $20 
will be charged for each check dishonored by the bank. 
 

**Section 2105 of the Insurance Law requires that an Excess Line Broker be licensed as a broker under Section 2104 of the Insurance Law.  Residents must 
submit a separate application under Section 2104 of the New York Insurance Law 
 

**Section 2105 of the Insurance Law requires that an Excess Line Broker be licensed as a broker under Section 2104 of the Insurance Law.  If you are a non-
resident and do not currently hold a New York broker license under Section 2104 and are applying for an Excess Line Broker License, an Excess Line Broker 
license from another state meets the qualification to become licensed as a broker in this state.  No application is required for a broker license for non-residents; 
however, an additional fee for this license is required.  See the attached fee schedule for a non-resident broker license under Section 2104.  Please add this fee to 
the above applicable license fee.  
 

Must be currently licensed and in compliance in your declared home state.  NOTE:  Your license information MUST be included in the National Producer 
Database; if not, you must submit a currently dated Certification from the state you have declared as your home state and in which your principle place of business 
or residence is located. 
 

If not already on file with this Department, proof of required filing of a partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or trade name.  It is recommended that 
the applicant obtain name approval for use of the name in the insurance industry from this Department before filing the name with a County Clerk office or the 
New York State Department of State.   You may submit a list of proposed names in the order of preference to New York State Dept. of Financial Services, One 
Commerce Plaza, Albany, NY 12257 or to our e-mail address, licensing@dfs.ny.gov.  Once a name is approved, licensing instructions will be provided. 
 

*If Home State is California – $50,000 BOND is required. 
 

NOTE – If your declared home state is in Montana, Florida or Missouri (entities), you will be issued a LIMITED EXCESS LINE BROKER LICENSE. 
Ex-Ind Rev. (10/2011) 
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STATE OF NEW YORK 
DEPT. OF FINANCIAL SERVICES 

ONE COMMERCE PLAZA 
ALBANY, NEW YORK 12257 

www.dfs.ny.gov 
 

AGENT/BROKER/EXCESS LINE BROKER/REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY/CONSULTANT SUPPLEMENTAL 
STATEMENT BY OFFICER OR DIRECTOR* OF CORPORATION OR BY MEMBER* OF PARTNERSHIP OR LIMITED 

LIABILITY COMPANY TO ACT AS SUBLICENSEE  
 

*Or By Designated Employee if Reinsurance Intermediary 
 

FOR ENTITY LICENSE NUMBER  ______   ___________ 
                       (Prefix) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
     Give full name of entity and its license number 

1. 
Name of Applicant                       Last                                                                                      First                                                                    M.I. 

Social Security Number* NY Individual Lic # if Any National Producer # (NPN) If Any Date of Birth Gender 
M____ F____ 

Residence:  No. and  Street  (required)                                          P.O. Box, if any City/Town/ Village County State/Country  Zip Code 

Mailing Address:  (required)(Indicate if same as Bus or Res)        P.O. Box, if any City/Town/Village County State/Country  Zip Code 

 
2. Are you under obligation to pay child support?…………............….……..……………………..…………....………….….…_________ 
                             Yes or No 
 If “Yes,” 

(a) Are you current or less than 4 months in arrears? …….....................………..……….….....…………….……..…….…_________ 
                             Yes or No 

(b) Are you paying by income execution plan agreed to by courts or parties?..................…......................……….….….._________ 
                             Yes or No 

(c) Is the obligation the subject of pending court proceeding?.....................................................................….…..……...._________ 
                             Yes or No 

(d) Are you receiving public assistance or supplemental income?.......……..............................….…................….….…..._________ 
                Yes or No 
If answer to the question regarding obligation to pay child support is “Yes,” one of the answers to (a)-(d) must be “Yes” or license will 
expire 6 months from its effective date unless you notify the Department by that time which answer has changed to “Yes.” 
 
If any of the following questions are answered “YES,” an explanation must be attached. 
 
3. Other than traffic infractions: 
 
(a) Have you ever been convicted of a crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently charged with 

with committing a crime?…………………………………………………………………………………………….…………….._________ 
                Yes or No 

“Crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony or a military offense.  You may exclude misdemeanor traffic citations or 
convictions involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, 
reckless driving, or driving with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses.  “Convicted” includes, but is not 
limited to, having been found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, or 
having been given probation, a suspended sentence or a fine. 

 
If you have a felony conviction, have you applied for a waiver as required by 18 USC 1033?     N/A_____ Yes_____ No _____ 

  

If so, was that waiver granted? (Attach copy of 1033 waiver approved by home state.)               N/A _____ Yes ____ No _____ 
 
(b) Have you ever been named or involved as a party in an administrative proceeding regarding any professional or 

occupational license or registration?.……………………………………………………………………………………………._________ 
                Yes or No 

“Involved” means having a license censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated; or, being assessed a fine, a fine, 
a cease and desist order, a prohibition order, a compliance order, placed on probation or surrendering a license to resolve 
an administrative action.  “Involved” also means being named as a party to an administrative or arbitration proceeding 
which is related to a professional or occupational license.  “Involved” also means having a license application denied or 
the act of withdrawing an application to avoid a denial.  INCLUDE any business so named because of your actions, in 
your capacity as an owner, partner, officer, director, or member or manager of a limited liability company.  You may 
EXCLUDE terminations due solely to noncompliance with continuing education requirements or failure to pay a renewal 
fee. 
 

*See Privacy Notification on Pg 3     - 1 of 3 -                  ProducerSupp Stmt (Rev  10/11) 



 
 
3 (CONTD.) 
 
(c) Has any demand been made or judgment rendered against you, or any business in which you are or were an 

owner, partner, officer, or director, or member or manager of a limited liability company, for overdue monies by an 
insurer, insured or producer or have you ever been subject to a bankruptcy proceeding?  Do not include personal 
bankruptcies, unless they involve funds held on behalf of others.…………………………………………………….………_________ 

                Yes or No 
 
(d) Have you ever been notified by any jurisdiction to which you are applying of any delinquent tax obligation that is not 

the subject of a repayment agreement..……….......…………………...........….............................................................…._________ 
                Yes or No 
 

If you answer yes, identify the jurisdiction(s): __________________________________________________________________ 
 
(e) Are you currently a party to, or have you ever been found liable in any lawsuit, arbitration, or mediation proceeding 

involving allegations of fraud, misappropriation or conversion of funds, misrepresentation or breach of fiduciary duty? _________ 
  Yes or No 

 
(f) Have you, or any business in which you are or were an owner, partner, officer, or director, or member or manager of a 

limited liability company, ever had an insurance agency contract or any other business relationship with an insurance 
company terminated for any alleged misconduct?………..………………..……………………………………….........….…_________ 
               Yes or No 

 
 
 

Applicant Certification and Attestation 
 The Applicant must read the following very carefully: 

 
 I hereby certify that, under penalty of perjury, all of the information submitted in this supplemental statement and 

attachments is true and complete.  I am aware that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material 
information in connection with this supplemental statement is grounds for license revocation or denial of the license and 
may subject me to civil or criminal penalties. 

 Where required by law, I hereby designate the Commissioner, Director or Superintendent of Financial Services, or other 
appropriate party in each jurisdiction for which this supplemental statement is made to be my agent for service of process 
regarding all insurance matters in the respective jurisdiction and agree that service upon the Commissioner, Director or 
Superintendent of Financial Services, or other appropriate party of that jurisdiction is of the same legal force and validity 
as personal service upon myself. 

 I further certify that I grant permission to the Commissioner, Director or Superintendent of Financial Services, or other 
appropriate party in each jurisdiction for which this supplemental statement is made to verify information with any federal, 
state or local government agency, current or former employer, or insurance company. 

 I further certify that, under penalty of perjury, either a) I have no child-support obligation, or b) I have a child-support 
obligation and I am currently in compliance with that obligation. 

 I authorize the jurisdictions to give any information concerning me, as permitted by law, to any federal, state or municipal 
agency, or any other organization as referenced in Section 110 of the New York State Insurance Law and I release the 
jurisdictions and any person acting on their behalf from any and all liability of whatever nature by reason of furnishing such 
information. 

 I acknowledge that I understand and will comply with the insurance laws and regulations of the jurisdictions to which I am 
applying for licensure. 

 For Non-Resident License Applications, I certify that I have been licensed within the last ninety (90) days and in good 
standing in the home state/resident state for the lines of authority requested from the non-resident state. 

 
 
Dated _____________________________ 20 ____ 
        ______________________________________________________ 
Telephone No. _____________________________                   Applicant Signature 
 
E-Mail Address _____________________________ ______________________________________________________ 
                                         Applicant Name (Printed or Typed) 
URL/Website Address________________________ 
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THE REMAINDER OF THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE ENTITY LICENSEE 

 
 

If the only sub-licensee is being replaced, you must furnish the date the previous sub-licensee ceased to act on behalf of the 
entity: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Has the entity transacted business in New York State  for the authority you are applying for in this supplemental 
statement since that date?................................................................................................................................................____________ 
                  Yes or No 
 
If “Yes,” who acted on its behalf?_______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
 COMPLETE THE ENDORSEMENT BELOW 
 
 ENTITY ENDORSEMENT 
 
 I hereby certify that ________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                             ENTITY NAME 
 
 wishes to add ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                              NAME                                                                                                             TITLE 
 
 as sub-licensee to ENTITY LICENSE #____________________________. 
 
                   __________________________________________ 
                   Signature and title of officer/director/partner/member 
                   other than the applicant sub-licensee unless the 
                   applicant/sub-licensee is the only officer/director/ 
                   partner/member. 
 
 
 

*  *  CHILD  SUPPORT  NOTIFICATION  *  * 
 
Persons four (4) months in arrears in child support or who have failed to comply with a summons, subpoena, or warrant 
relating to paternity or child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their business, professional, driver, and/or 
recreational licenses and permits including, but not limited to, licenses pursuant to §11-0713 of the Environmental Law. 
 
Intentional submission of false statements for the purposes of frustrating/defeating lawful enforcement of support obligations is 
punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law. 
 
 

*  *  PRIVACY  NOTIFICATION  *  * 
 
Pursuant to Article 1, Section 5 of the New York State Tax Law, it is mandatory that you report your Social Security Number 
and/or Employer Identification Number.  Your failure to respond may be reported to the Department of Taxation and Finance.  
These tax identification numbers are being collected to enable the Department of Taxation & Finance to identify entities which 
are delinquent in or have understated their tax liabilities, and may be used for any purpose authorized by the Tax Law.  They 
will be maintained by the Director, Licensing Services Bureau, New York State Dept. of Financial Services, One Commerce 
Plaza, Albany, New York  12257.   Telephone:  (518) 474-6630. 

 
The New York State Dept. of Financial Services will, absent your written objection, which must be attached to this application, 
provide these tax identification numbers to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners for inclusion in its Producer 
Database. 
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