Skip to Content

NY.gov Portal State Agency Listing

Translate | Disclaimer

Flood Insurance Training Requirements for Property & Casualty Insurance Producers

Agents and Brokers index page

Section 207 of the Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004 requires all producers selling flood insurance policies under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) be properly trained and educated about the NFIP to ensure producers may best serve their clients.

In order to continue their authority to solicit, negotiate or sell flood insurance, all New York licensed resident insurance producers who sell flood insurance policies through the NFIP must comply with the minimum training requirements of section 207 of the Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004, and basic flood education as outlined at 70 Fed. Reg., 52,117 (Sept. 1, 2005) or such later requirements as published by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The failure to comply with this basic training requirement may jeopardize the producer’s authority to write insurance through the NFIP.

Accordingly and in cooperation with state insurance regulators and the insurance industry, FEMA has established minimum training and education requirements. This Department has reviewed the course material for flood education courses of the following Approved Provider Organizations and has found these courses to be in compliance with the standards set forth by FEMA. Producers completing these courses will satisfy the minimum FEMA requirements and earn continuing education credits toward the renewal of their insurance licenses.

Please contact the Approved Provider Organization directly for detailed course information and availability.

A.D. Banker & Company, LLC
Laurie Coe, Compliance Mgr.
500 College Blvd., Ste. 120
Overland Park, KS. 66211
1-800-255-0408
laurie@mail.adbanker.com

American Insurance Marketing and Sales Society
Ms. Kitty Ambers, Executive Director
1406 St. Johns Court
P.O. Box 35718
Richmond, VA. 23236
804-674-6466
KAmbers@comcast.net

Barlin, Inc.
Bill Moffitt
128 Eric Blvd.
P.O. Box 1429
Schenectady, N.Y. 12301
1-518-382-7903
nynews@mail.com

Bromley Smith Licensing School
James Smith, President
307 Atlantic Avenue
Spring Lake, New Jersey 07762
1-732-449-9288
jimsmith@bromleysmithpublishers.com

Bryant & Stratton College
Attn: Victoria Hernick-Cutillo
1 Winners Circle
Colonie NY 12205
1-518-437-1802
vchernick@bryantstratton.edu

CAPE School, Inc.
Attn: Stephanie Taylor
P.O. Box 169
Buckingham, VA 23921
1-800-729-7363
stephanie@CapeSchool.com

CE Source, LLC
Stephen Trussel, Manager
P.O. Box 1330
McKinney, Texas 75070
1-800-994-3040
info@statece.com

C.E. University
Gene Holt, Compliance Officer
140 Ferry Road
Old Saybrook, CT. 06475
1-800-295-9010
GHolt@CEU.com

Certified Water Smoke & Fire Restoration, LLC
Ann Formel
4066 Route 203
North Chatham, NY 12132
518-766-9597
aformel@purocleancertified.com

Falvo Consulting & Training
Bruno Falvo, Manager
14 Imperial Drive
Loudonville, New York 12211
518 463 7339
falvotc@earthlink.net

FEMA - National Flood Insurance Program
Tauran D. Matthews – Training Specialist
7700 Hubble Drive
Lanham MD 20706
301-731-5300
tmatthews@NFIPstat.com

Fidelity National Property & Casualty Ins. Co.
Attn: Shawn Tinsley
1-904-997-7355
P.o. Box # 45126
Jacksonville, FL. 32232
Shawn.Tinsley@FNF.com

IEC Consultants LTD.
Zachary Berhau, CEO
21-81 38th Street, Suite 20
Astoria, New York 11105
1-718-626-3951
iec1con@aol.com

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of New York, Inc.
Lisa Britton
5784 Widewaters Parkway, 1st Floor
Dewitt, New York 13214
1-800-962-7950
LBritton@IIABNY.org

Insurance Education Corp.
Attn: Ivan Cohen
1-845-225-4100
72 Gleneida Avenue
P.o. Box # 656
Carmel, New York 10512
ICohen@insuranceeducation.biz

Insurance Society of Philadelphia
Margaret Dence
456 Public Ledger Bldg.
620 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19106
215-627-5306
pdence@insurancesociety.org

InsuranceStudy.com
Edward Zurek, Mgr.
500 Lake Cook Road
Ste. 275
Deerfield, IL. 60015
1-866-339-3900
Support@netstudy.com

National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research
Theresa Bucek
3630 North Hills Drive
P.O. Box 27027
Austin, Texas 78755
512-345-7932
tbucek@scic.com

National Flood Insurance Program, Inc.
Loren Savino
Wycoff Road
P.O. Box 210
Adelphia, New Jersey 07710
732-625-8322
nfips2@aol.com

New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Co.
Attn: Jonathan Schloop
1899 Central Plaza East
Edmeston, New York 13335
1-607-965-3015
jschloop@NYCM.com

POHS Educational Centers
Stanley Gruverman, President
Suite C-100
1400 Old Country Road
Westbury, New York 11590
1-516-997-8360
s.gruverman@pohsinstitute.com

Professional Careers Institute Inc.
Chukky C. Okafor, Director
300 Hempstead Turnpike, Suite 216
West Hempstead, New York 11552
1-516-483-4000
pci2win@verizon.net

Professional Insurance Agents of New York State, Inc.
Education Department
25 Chamberlain St.
Glenmont, NY 12077
1-800-424-4244, or 518-434-3111
education@pia.org or www.pia.org

Sandi Kruise Insurance Training
Sandi J. Kruise
P.O. Box 786
Bonita, CA 91908-0786
1-800-517-7500
Sandi@Kruise.com

St. John's University/ The Peter J. Tobin College of Business - School of Risk Mgmt.
Attn: Kate Spellman or Jesica Alvarez
1-212-277-5161
Center for Professional Education
101 Murray Street
New York, New York 10007
CPE@StJohns.edu

StoneRiver RegEd, Inc.
Attn: Brandi Brown
2100 Gateway Centre, Suite 200
Morrisville, NC 27560
1-800-334-8322 Ext. 5256
brandi.brown@reged.co

United Insurance Educators, Inc.
Cassandra Jenkins
8213 352nd St. East
Eatonville, WA. 98328
1-800-735-1155
mail@UIECE.com

WebCE
Eugene Barnes, Vice President
1212 East Arapaho, Suite 200
Richardson, TX 75081
1-800-488-9308
eugene.barnes@webce.com

Wise Education, Inc.
Richard Jovino, Director
80 Stanhope Road
Sparta, New Jersey 07871
973-729-8828
RJKarrich@earthlink.net

Wright National Flood Insurance Company
801 94th Avenue, Suite 110
St. Petersburg, FL 33702-2482
727-568-7655
shawn.tinsley@weareflood.com

Additional information concerning FEMA, flood insurance and flood insurance associated resources may be obtained from the following Web site: