
October 17, 1978 

SUBJECT: INSURANCE 

WITHDRAWN 

Date: October 17, 1978 
Circular Letter No. 15 (1978) 

TO: All automobile self insurers and insurers writing automobile insurance in New York State 

RE: Notice of satisfaction of Workers' Compensation or Disability Benefits lien from third party recovery; Sections 
29(1) & (2) and 227(1) & (2) of the Workers' Compensation Law as amended by Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978. 

Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978 requires providers of workers' compensation who have satisfied liens from 
automobile liability recoveries or who, as assignees, have obtained such recoveries, to notify automobile accident 
victims injured between February 1, 1974 and June 30, 1978 of their right to be reimbursed by their no-fault automobile 
insurer for the amount of the lien which the no-fault insurer previously offset from first party benefits. 

Providers of disability benefits who have satisfied such liens or obtained such recoveries must similarly notify 
automobile accident victims injured in motor vehicle accidents between December 1, 1977 and June 30, 1978. 

The Chairman of the Workers' Compensation Board and the Superintendent of Insurance have approved the use of 
Forms C 121.2 and DB 381.3 (attached) for notification of victims. Pursuant to L. 1978, Ch. 572 these forms are to be 
sent by the workers' compensation or disability benefits provider to the claimant by certified mail. 

The 11th Amendment to Regulation 68 (11 NYCRR 65.6(p)(5) & 65.15(p)(5)) provides that upon the submission 
of proof of the satisfaction of a lien or recovery by the workers' compensation or disability benefits provider "[T]he 
no-fault insurer shall make the claimant whole with respect to first party benefits for items of basic economic loss not 
recoverable in an action brought pursuant to Section 673(1) for which the no-fault insurer has taken an offset". 
Claimants have until July 1, 1980 or 2 years from the satisfaction of the lien or the obtaining of a recovery, whichever is 
later, to request reimbursement from the no-fault insurer. but Within 30 days of the submission of Form C-121.2 or DB 
381.3 the no-fault insurer must either pay or deny the claim for reimbursement. Failure to make timely payments will 
subject the no-fault insurer to the applicable interest, attorney fees and arbitration provisions of Regulation 68. 

As to motor vehicle accidents occurring on and after July 1, 1978, L. 1978, Ch. 572 has eliminated the workers' 
compensation and disability benefits liens in most negligence recoveries. 

This letter is being sent to the Bar Associations in New York State and the insurance trade press in order to 
facilitate the execution of the reimbursement provisions which were previously specified in Insurance Department 
Regulation No. 68. 

Please acknowledge receipt of this letter by a responsible executive officer of your company and address any 
inquiry to: 

John Reiersen 
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New York State Insurance Department
 

Property & Casualty Insurance Bureau
 

2 World Trade Center
 

New York, New York 10047
 

Very truly yours,
 

[SIGNATURE]
 

ALBERT B. LEWIS
 

Superintendent of Insurance
 

State of New York 
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD 
OFFICE OF THE CHAIRMAN 

October 6, 1978 

To: Insurance Carriers and Self-Insurers Providing Benefits Under the Disability Benefits Law 

Subject: Form DB-381.3, Notice of Satisfaction of Disability Benefits Lien From Third Party Recovery Under Section 
227, Subds. 1 and 2 

Attached is a copy of new prescribed Form DB-381.3 required by Section 227, Subds. 1 and 2 of the Disability 
Benefits Law as amended by Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978, effective July 1, 1978. 

Carriers and self-insurers are now required to review their files and to send Form DB-381.3, in duplicate, by 
certified mail to all persons injured in motor vehicle accidents between December 1, 1977 and June 30, 1978, inclusive, 
who have satisfied disability benefits liens from third party recoveries. Where the case is still pending, Form DB-381.3 
should be sent at the time the lien is satisfied. 

As an alternative, if the lien has not been satisfied, Insurance Department regulations permit disability benefits 
carriers and self-insurers to accept an assignment from the claimant and handle the exchange of money with the no-fault 
insurer directly. If you avail yourself of this alternative, Form DB-381.3 need not be prepared. 

Where the motor vehicle accident occurred on or after July 1, 1978, Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978 sets forth the 
new Law governing such cases and Form DB-381.3 should not be used. 

Carriers and self-insurers are authorized to print Form DB-381.3 on 8 1/2" x 11", 16# yellow bond with their name 
and address imprinted in the space provided. In all other respects, exact format and text are to be followed. 

[SIGNATURE] 

Chairman 

NOTICE OF SATISFACTION OF DISABILITY BENEFITS LIEN FROM THIRD PARTY RECOVERY UNDER 
SECTION 227. SUBDS. 1 and 2 

Claimant (Name & Address) Social Security No. Disability Benefits 



____________________ 

____________________ 
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Carrier File No. 

Claimed First Date of No-Fatal 

Disability Case No. 

Known) 

Name Address 

Disability 

Benefits 

Carrier 

Third Party 

To 

No-Fault 

Insurer 

(If Known) 

THIS LETTER CONTAINS IMPORTANT INFORMATION. READ THIS LETTER CAREFULLY. YOU MAY BE 
ENTITLED TO ADDITIONAL MONEY 

Your motor vehicle no-fault insurer took credit for and reduced its no-fault payments to you because we made 
Disability Benefits payments to you in the following amount: $ _________________ 

We received $ __________________in full satisfaction of our lien for the above payments, out of the recovery in the 
lawsuit you brought against the above named third party tortfeasor. Your no-fault insurer must, under recent court 
decisions and Insurance Department Regulations, pay no-fault benefits it did not originally pay because it took credit for 
our payments to you. THE EXACT AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO RECEIVE DEPENDS 
UPON A NUMBER OF FACTORS WHICH YOUR NO-FAULT INSURER AND/OR LAWYER WILL EXPLAIN 
TO YOU. 

IN ORDER TO PROTECT YOUR RIGHT TO GET PAID, SHOW THIS TO YOUR LAWYER IMMEDIATELY! 

If you are handling your case without a lawyer give the original of this letter to your no-fault insurer without delay and 
keep a copy for your own records. If you do not personally deliver this letter to your no-fault insurer, we suggest that 
you send it by certified mail, return receipt requested, in order that you have proof of their receipt of this letter. 

Your no-fault insurer has 30 days after receipt of this letter to pay all amounts owed to you. If you do not receive 
payment of all amounts owed to you within 30 days, you or your lawyer should telephone the New York State 
Insurance Department at (212)775-1011 in New York City or toll free at (800)522-4370 elsewhere in the State and 
request assistance from the Insurance Department. 

Date 



____________________ 

_______________________ 

____________________ 
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Print or Type Name 

Signature 

Telephone No. & Extension 

Official Title 

Claimant's Attorney -- Please Note -- See Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978, Sections 5 and 7 and 11th Amendment to 
Insurance Department Regulation No. 68, 11 NYCRR 65.15 (p) (5). 

THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD EMPLOYS AND SERVES THE HANDICAPPED WITHOUT 
DISCRIMINATION. 

Approved by Chairman,
 
Workers' Compensation Board and the Superintendent of Insurance, State of New York
 

DB-381.3 (10-78)
 

State of New York
 
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
 
OFFICE OF THE CHAIRMAN
 

October 6, 1978
 

To: Insurance Carriers and Self-Insurers Providing Benefits Under the Workers' Compensation Law
 

Subject: Form C-121.2, Notice of Satisfaction of Workers' Compensation Lien From Third Party Recovery Under
 
Section 29, Subds. 1 and 2
 

Attached in a copy of new prescribed Form C-121.2 required by Section 29, subds. 1 and 2 of the Workers' 
Compensation Law as amended by Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978, effective July 1, 1978. 

Carriers and self-insurers are now required to review their files and to send Form C-121.2, in duplicate, by certified 
mail to all persons injured in motor vehicle accidents between February 1, 1974 and June 30, 1978, inclusive, who have 
satisfied workers' compensation liens from third party recoveries. Where the case is still pending, Form C-121.2 should 
be sent at the time the lien is satisfied. 

As an alternative, if the lien has not been satisfied, Insurance Department regulations permit workers' compensation 
carriers and self-insurers to accept an assignment from the claimant and handle the exchange of money with the no-fault 
insurer directly. If you avail yourself of this alternative, Form C-121.2 need not be prepared. 

Where the motor vehicle accident occured on or after July 1, 1978, Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978 sets forth the 
new Law governing such cases and Form C-121.2 should not be used. 

Carriers and self-insurers are authorized to print Form C-121.2 on 8 1/2" x 11", 16# white bond with their name and 
address imprinted in the space provided. In all other respects, exact format and text are to be followed. 
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[SIGNATURE] 

Chairman 

NOTICE OF SATISFACTION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION LIEN FROM THIRD PARTY RECOVERY 
UNDER SECTION 29, SUBDS. 1 & 2 

Claimant (Name & Address) W.C.B. Case No. Compensation Carrier Case No. 

Date of Injury No-Fault Case No. (If Known) 

Name Address 

Workers' 

Compensation 

Carrier 

Third Party 

Tortfeasor 

No-Fault 

Insurer 

(If Known) 

THIS LETTER CONTAINS IMPORTANT INFORMATION. READ THIS LETTER CAREFULLY. YOU MAY BE 
ENTITLED TO ADDITIONAL MONEY 

Your motor vehicle no-fault insurer took credit for and reduced its no-fault payments to you because we made the 
following payment(s) to you. 

[] Workers' Compensation you received for lost earnings. $ __________ 

[] Payments to hospital or other health service provider 

who treated you. $ __________ 

[] Other payments to you. $ __________ 

We received $ ____________________in full satisfaction of our lien for the above payments, out of the recovery in the 
lawsuit you brought against the above named third party tortfeasor. Your no-fault insurer must, under recent court 
decisions and Insurance Department Regulations, pay no-fault benefits it did not originally pay because it took credit for 
our payments to you. THE EXACT AMOUNT OF MONEY YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO RECEIVE DEPENDS 
UPON A NUMBER OF FACTORS WHICH YOUR NO-FAULT INSURER AND/OR LAWYER WILL EXPLAIN 
TO YOU. 

IN ORDER TO PROTECT YOUR RIGHT TO GET PAID, SHOW THIS TO YOUR LAWYER IMMEDIATELY! 

If you are handling your case without a lawyer give the original of this letter to your no-fault insurer without delay and 
keep a copy for your own records. If you do not personally deliver this letter to your no-fault insurer, we suggest that 
you send it by certified mail, return receipt requested, in order that you have proof of their receipt of this letter. 



____________________ 

____________________ 

____________________ 

_______________________ 

____________________ 
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Your no-fault insurer has 30 days after receipt of this letter to pay all amounts owed to you. If you do not receive 
payment of all amounts owed to you within 30 days, you or your lawyer should telephone the New York State 
Insurance Department at (212)775-1011 in New York City or toll free at (800)522-4370 elsewhere in the State and 
request assitance from the Insurance Department. 

Date 

Print or Type Name 

Signature 

Telephone No. & Extension 

Official Title 

Claimant's Attorney -- Please Note -- See Chapter 572 of the Laws of 1978, Sections 1 and 3 and 11th Amendment to 
Insurance Department Regulation No. 68, 11 NYCRR 65.6(p)(5) and 65.15 (p). 

THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD EMPLOYS AND SERVES THE HANDICAPPED WITHOUT 
DISCRIMINATION. 

Approved by Chairman, Workers' Compensation Board and the Superintendent of Insurance, State of New York 

C-121.2 (10-78) 


