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INSURANCE BUSINESS IN NEW YORK

RE: MOTOR VEHICLE LAW ENFORCEMENT FEE
STATUTORY REFERENCE: INSURANCE LAW SECTION 9110

Circular Letter No. 10, issued May 30, 2003, provided insurers with information on the increase to the Motor
Vehicle Law Enforcement fee from an annual fee of one dollar ($1) to five dollars ($5) effective June 1, 2003.
After the circular letter was issued, the Department received inquiries from insurers concerning the
implementation of the fee increase. The purpose of this Supplement is to provide additional guidance to insurers
clarifying certain issues that have been raised.

The Legislature recently amended Section 9110 of the New York State Insurance Law, entitled Motor Vehicle Law
Enforcement Fee. This amendment is effective June 1, 2003.

This section requires every insurance company authorized to do business in this state to charge and collect an
annual motor vehicle law enforcement fee from each holder of a policy issued or renewed with an effective date
on or after July 1, 1992, in this state, or for delivery in this state, for motor vehicle liability insurance coverage.

The annual fee is now imposed at the rate of five dollars ($5) for each insured vehicle registered pursuant to the
provisions of paragraph (b) of subdivision 1 of Section 401 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law. Such
fee shall be remitted monthly with form TA016 6/03 (attached) by insurance companies to the Superintendent of
Insurance on or before the fifteenth of the month next succeeding the month in which such collections are
received.

Vehicles excluded from the fee are:

e motorcycles

e electrically-driven mobility assistance devices
operated or driven by a person with a disability

e vehicles which run only upon rails or tracks

* snowmobiles and all terrain vehicles as described in
Articles forty-seven and forty-eight B of the Vehicle
and Traffic Law

e fire and police vehicles other than ambulances

e farm-type tractors and all terrain type vehicles used
exclusively for agricultural (purposes), or for snow
plowing (other than for hire)

e farm equipment, including self-propelled machines
used exclusively in growing, harvesting or handling
produce

e self-propelled caterpillar or crawler-type equipment
while being operated on the contract site.


http://www.ins.state.ny.us/circltr/2003/cl03_10.htm

The purposes for which the fee is to be expended are dependent upon the type of insured vehicle for which the
fee is collected. In submitting the monthly payment to the Superintendent, each insurer must report the total of all
monies collected from policyholders on private passenger motor vehicles subject to the provisions of paragraph
(a) of subdivision 6 of Section 401 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and a separate total of all monies collected from
policyholders on all other vehicles. Motor vehicles not subject to paragraph (a) include ambulances; motor
vehicles owned or controlled by governmental entities; auto trucks and light delivery cars; tractors; buses; taxicabs
and liveries; hearses; historical motor vehicles; trailers; semitrailers; coach or house trailers; and certain other
motor vehicles as described in the aforementioned subdivision 6.

On or before the fifteenth day of February of each year, every insurer required to collect the fee must file an
annual statement with the Superintendent, on a form to be furnished by the Superintendent, reporting the number
and the fees collected during the immediately preceding year applicable to private passenger motor vehicles and
all other vehicles, separately.

To clarify specific issues:

o For policies issued or renewed on or after June 1,
2003, the five dollar ($5) fee will be collected at the
time the policy is issued or renewed. For those
policies issued or renewed prior to June 1, 2003, the
five dollar ($5) fee will be collected on the policy’s
next annual anniversary date.

o For vehicles added or replaced on or after June 1,
2003, regardless of the policy’s effective date, the
five dollar ($5) fee will be collected at the time the
vehicle is added or replaced to the policy. It is the
date that the vehicle is added to the policy that is
controlling, not the effective date of the policy.

« For any possible multi-year policies, the annual five
dollar ($5) fee shall be charged on the next and
subsequent anniversary date on or after June 1,
2003.

« The fee shall be charged to the policyholder, and
may not be calculated in rate filings.

¢ There shall be no refund of the fee for vehicles
eliminated from the policy.

« The fee should be shown and separately identified
either on a premium billing, or the declarations page
of the policy, or in a separate written communication
to the policyholder.

e The insurance company records should be
maintained in such a manner that amounts billed
and collected from each policyholder can be
identified.

¢ There shall be no commission earned on the fee.

e The fee is not subject to premium tax.

o The refund of a fee by an insurer shall be made only
if the policy for which it is received is cancelled
without having become effective.

In lieu of reporting and paying the fee on a collected basis, insurance companies may remit and report on a
written basis. Eorms for reporting and submitting the payment of the fee are attached or are available at the
Department’s website at: www.ins.state.ny.us. The forms may be reproduced as necessary.

The Department has also prepared responses to frequently asked questions which should provide further
assistance to insurers.

Please acknowledge receipt of this letter and refer any related questions to:

Christopher F. Rulon
Assistant Director of Administration and Operations
New York State Insurance Department
One Commerce Plaza


http://www.ins.state.ny.us/iprop.htm
http://www.ins.state.ny.us/faqs/faqs_ind_motor_veh.htm

Albany, NY 12257

Telephone No. (518) 474-8567

Very truly yours,

Gregory V. Serio
Superintendent of Insurance
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