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To: All Insurers Authorized to Transact Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Business in 
New York and the New York Automobile Insurance Plan 

 
Re:   Motor Vehicle Law Enforcement Fee 
 
STATUTORY REFERENCE:  New York Insurance Law § 9110 
 
 The purpose of this Circular Letter is to provide guidance to insurers writing motor vehicle 
insurance in New York regarding the recent amendments to New York Insurance Law § 9110, entitled 
“Motor Vehicle Law Enforcement Fee.”  Section 9110 requires every insurer authorized to do business in 
New York to charge and collect an annual motor vehicle law enforcement fee from each holder of a motor 
vehicle liability insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in New York. 
 
 Effective June 1, 2009, the annual fee is imposed at the rate of $10 per insured vehicle registered 
pursuant to the provisions of New York Vehicle and Traffic Law § 401(1)(b).  However, the Legislature 
also amended section 9110(b) to provide “that such fee shall be reduced by fifty percent per insured 
motor vehicle registered pursuant to the provisions of paragraph b of subdivision one of section four 
hundred one of the vehicle and traffic law where a policy issued in the state or for delivery in the state for 
motor vehicle liability insurance coverage is for a term of six months or less.”  There has been some 
confusion as to how to interpret these amendments and therefore, the Insurance Department is seeking a 
legislative clarification.  However, since insurers are already issuing renewal notices on policies to be 
effective on and after June 1, 2009 and cannot wait for possible amendments to the law, this circular letter 
provides guidance as to how to apply the new law. 
 
 Accordingly, an insurer should, with respect to policies issued or renewed on or after June 1, 
2009, implement procedures consistent with the following: 
 

 A policy with a term longer than six months: 
 

• An insurer must collect a $10 fee per insured vehicle when the policy is first issued and 
upon the policy’s anniversary date.  For example, on a policy written on January 1, 2009 
with a one-year policy term, an insurer must collect $10 on January 1, 2010.  For any 
possible multi-year policy, an insurer must collect a $10 fee upon each anniversary date. 
 

• For a vehicle added or replaced on or after June 1, 2009, an insurer must collect a $10 fee 
at the time of the addition or replacement and thereafter upon the policy’s anniversary 
date. 

 
 A policy with a term of six months or less: 
 



• An insurer must collect a $5 fee per insured vehicle when the policy is first issued and 
upon renewal of the policy, but the total fees collected should not exceed $10 per insured 
vehicle annually.  For example, on a policy written on January 1, 2010 with a six-month 
term, an insurer must collect $5 on both January 1, 2010 and July 1, 2010. 
 

• For a policy issued prior to June 1, 2009, an insurer should not collect any additional fee 
until the policy’s next anniversary date.  For example, if on May 1, 2009 an insurer 
collected $5, then it should not collect a fee on the same vehicle on November 1, 2009, 
but rather, must collect the fee on May 1, 2010. 

 
• For a vehicle added or replaced on or after June 1, 2009, an insurer must collect a $5 fee 

at the time of the addition or replacement and thereafter upon the renewal of the policy. 
 
 All policies: 
 

• An insurer may refund a fee only if the policy is rescinded without having become 
effective, and may not refund the fee simply because a vehicle is removed from the 
policy. 
 

• An insurer no longer needs to itemize the fees by type of vehicle on the Department’s 
remittance form. 
 

• An insurer may not calculate or include the fee in its rate filings. 
 

• An insurer should show the fee as a separately identified amount on a premium bill, the 
declarations page of the policy, or in a separate written communication to the 
policyholder. 
 

• An insurer should maintain its records in such a manner that amounts billed and collected 
from each policyholder can be identified. 
 

• An insurance producer may not earn a commission on the fee. 
 

• The fee is not subject to premium tax. 
 
Updated remittance forms are available on the Department’s website.  Insurers may file and remit fees on-
line through the Department’s website. 
 
 
 
 Please refer any questions to: 
 

Mark E. Daigneault 
Director of Taxes and Accounts 
New York State Insurance Department 
One Commerce Plaza 
Albany, New York 12257 

 billing@ins.state.ny.us 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Karen E. Cole 
Director of Administration and Operations 
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