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        Circular Letter No. 15 (2010)  
        October 4, 2010 
 
 
 
TO: All Insurers Authorized to Write Motor Vehicle Insurance in New York State 

(“Motor Vehicle Insurers”); the New York Automobile Insurance Plan; Rate 
Service Organizations; and Insurance Producers 

 
RE: Minimum Property Damage Threshold for Increasing Motor Vehicle Policy 

Premiums 
 
STATUTORY REFERENCES:  New York Insurance Law §§ 2334, 2335 and 2349 and 

11 NYCRR Part 169 (Regulation 100) 
 

The purpose of this Circular Letter is to provide guidance and clarification to motor 
vehicle insurers, the New York Automobile Insurance Plan (“NYAIP”), rate service 
organizations (“RSOs”), and insurance producers regarding Chapter 277 of the Laws of 2010, 
which amends Insurance Law § 2335 effective November 27, 2010. 

 
On July 30, 2010, Governor David A. Paterson signed into law Chapter 277, which adds a 

new Insurance Law § 2335(a).  This section prohibits an insurer from increasing an insured’s 
policy premium solely because the insured or any other person who customarily operates an 
automobile covered by the policy has had an accident that does not result in aggregate damage to 
property in excess of $2,000.  However, the insurer may impose a surcharge if the accident 
results in bodily injury or if an insured has more than one accident in the insurer’s filed and 
approved merit rating experience period. 

 
Presently, § 169.1(a) of 11 NYCRR 169 (Regulation 100) ties the minimum property 

damage threshold for which an automobile insurer may impose a premium surcharge to the 
compulsory accident reporting threshold set forth in Vehicle and Traffic Law § 605(a)(1).  
Vehicle and Traffic Law § 605(a)(1) requires the operator of a motor vehicle to report to the 
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, among other things, any accident in which damage to the 
property of any one person is in excess of $1,000.  As a result of Chapter 277, the minimum 
property damage threshold is no longer linked to the compulsory accident reporting threshold set 
forth in Vehicle and Traffic Law § 605(a)(1).  Accordingly, the Department is amending 11 
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NYCRR § 169.1(a) to reflect the amendment to Insurance Law § 2335.  All other provisions of 
Regulation 100 will remain unchanged and are not impacted by the amendment to § 2335. 

 
Furthermore, Insurance Law § 2335 prohibits any increase in the policy premium solely 

because of any one of the enumerated grounds.  Therefore, the addition to Insurance Law § 2335 
of the ground that the insured or any other person who customarily operates a motor vehicle 
covered by the policy has had an accident that does not result in aggregate damage to property in 
excess of $2,000 means that the bar on premium increases applies not only to the imposition of 
surcharges in accordance with filed merit rating plans, but also to the loss, or a reduction in the 
amount, of “accident free” or “careful driver” discounts, and to uptiering in accordance with 
multi-tier rating programs.  Accordingly, motor vehicle insurers, RSOs, and the NYAIP should 
review their rating plans, rules and classifications and file appropriate revisions as necessary for 
the Superintendent’s approval as soon as possible to comply with Chapter 277 by its effective 
date. 

 
As previously noted, new § 2335(a) also provides that an insurer may surcharge for any 

accident that results in bodily injury.  However, § 169.1(c) of Regulation 100 already permits an 
insurer to impose a surcharge for an occurrence involving bodily injury (including a no-fault 
injury subject to Article 51 of the Insurance Law), provided that the motor vehicle was in 
operation and the insured was at fault.  The Department promulgated Regulation 100 pursuant to 
Insurance Law § 2334(a), which requires the Superintendent to establish standards and 
limitations intended to insure that merit rating plans are reasonable, understandable, and 
objective and are not unfairly discriminatory, inequitable, violative of public policy or otherwise 
contrary to the best interests of the people of New York.  The Department does not construe the 
amendment to § 2335 to permit an insurer to impose a surcharge on an insured where the insured 
was not at fault or where the vehicle was not in operation, such as where an insured’s vehicle 
was hit while lawfully parked.  There is nothing in the legislative bill memo to indicate that the 
Legislature intended to alter any provision of Regulation 100 other than with respect to the dollar 
threshold amount. 

 
With respect to its effective date, Chapter 277 states that it applies “to policies entered 

into, modified, or renewed on or after” November 27, 2010.  This means that regardless of when 
an accident may have occurred, the law applies as of November 27, 2010 any time that a policy 
is issued, renewed or modified.  For purposes of Chapter 277, the Department defines 
“modification” as a change in the policy coverage or underlying risk characteristics that results in 
a revised policy premium.  Examples of such a “modification” to a policy include the addition or 
removal of a vehicle, driver or any coverage under the policy, or a change in the principal 
garaging of the insured’s vehicle.  Purely ministerial changes, such as alterations to the manner 
or timing of payment or corrections of typographical errors, would not constitute “modifications” 
to the policy within the meaning of Chapter 277. 

 
Please direct any questions regarding this circular letter to Serge Moreau, Associate 

Insurance Examiner, at smoreau@ins.state.ny.us or (212) 480-5581. 
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         Very truly yours, 

  
        ____________________________ 
         Eugene Bienskie 
            Assistant Deputy Superintendent & Chief 
         Property Bureau 


