
INSTRUCTIONS  FOR  EXCESS  LINE  BROKER  APPLICANT 
 

Match the submission code numbers listed under the “Resident” (one who has declared New York as their Home State; Home State means the District of 
Columbia or any state or territory of the United States in which the applicant maintains his, her or its principal place of residence or principal place of 
business) or “Non-Resident” (one who has declared a state OTHER than New York as their Home State AND who is licensed or authorized in their Home 
State). 

INDIVIDUAL/TBA LICENSES WILL BE ISSUED WITH AN EXPIRATION DATE DETERMINED BY DATE OF BIRTH: 
**If you were born in an even numbered year, your license will expire on your birthday in an even numbered year. 
**If you were born in an odd numbered year, your license will expire on your birthday in an odd numbered year. 

 
 SUBMISSION CODES  FEE 
 
CODE 

DESCRIPTION 
OF  LICENSE 

INS. LAW 
SECTION 

RESIDENT NON-
RESIDENT 

OTHER REQUIREMENTS LICENSING PERIOD FULL FEE HALF FEE 

EX Excess Line 
Broker 

2105 1, 2, 3, 6 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7* Must be licensed as a BR 
(broker) under Section 2104 
**See 3 & 4  below for 
clarification  

Individual/TBA – up to 2 years from 
date of issue to Date of Birth 
Expiration** (See Note Above) 
Corresponding with qualifying BR 
license 
Entities - 2 yrs-11/1 to 10/31 of even 
years corresponding with qualifying 
BR license 

$400 or $50 
(See code 2 
below) 

$200 or $25 
(See code 2 
below) 

CODE  

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT CODE CHART 
1. 

 

2. 
 
 
 
 

3. 
 
 

4. 
 
 
 
 
 

5. 
 
 
 

6. 
 
 
 
 

7. 
 

Application 
 

FEE –RESIDENT - $400 or $200 if the applicant maintains an office in, or acts as an excess line broker in placing insurance on risks located in any county in this 
state having a population of 100,000 or more.  $50 or $25 in all other cases.   NON-RESIDENT - $400 OR $200.  Full fees are charged during the first year of a 
licensing period; half fees are charged during the second year.  See “Fee” columns above.  Make check payable to “Superintendent of Financial Services.”  $20 
will be charged for each check dishonored by the bank. 
 

**Section 2105 of the Insurance Law requires that an Excess Line Broker be licensed as a broker under Section 2104 of the Insurance Law.  Residents must 
submit a separate application under Section 2104 of the New York Insurance Law 
 

**Section 2105 of the Insurance Law requires that an Excess Line Broker be licensed as a broker under Section 2104 of the Insurance Law.  If you are a non-
resident and do not currently hold a New York broker license under Section 2104 and are applying for an Excess Line Broker License, an Excess Line Broker 
license from another state meets the qualification to become licensed as a broker in this state.  No application is required for a broker license for non-residents; 
however, an additional fee for this license is required.  See the attached fee schedule for a non-resident broker license under Section 2104.  Please add this fee to 
the above applicable license fee.  
 

Must be currently licensed and in compliance in your declared home state.  NOTE:  Your license information MUST be included in the National Producer 
Database; if not, you must submit a currently dated Certification from the state you have declared as your home state and in which your principle place of business 
or residence is located. 
 

If not already on file with this Department, proof of required filing of a partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or trade name.  It is recommended that 
the applicant obtain name approval for use of the name in the insurance industry from this Department before filing the name with a County Clerk office or the 
New York State Department of State.   You may submit a list of proposed names in the order of preference to New York State Dept. of Financial Services, One 
Commerce Plaza, Albany, NY 12257 or to our e-mail address, licensing@dfs.ny.gov.  Once a name is approved, licensing instructions will be provided. 
 

*If Home State is California – $50,000 BOND is required. 
 

NOTE – If your declared home state is in Montana, Florida or Missouri (entities), you will be issued a LIMITED EXCESS LINE BROKER LICENSE. 
Ex-Ind Rev. (10/2011) 
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ORIGINAL/RELICENSING 

ENTITY FORM 
 

NEW YORK STATE DEPT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES 
Attention:  Licensing  Bureau 

One Commerce  Plaza 
Albany,  New  York   12257 

PRODUCER APPLICATION FOR EXCESS LINE BROKER’S LICENSE 
UNDER SECTION 2105 OF THE INSURANCE LAW 

www.dfs.ny.gov 
 FOR DEPT USE ONLY 

 
License No. EX-……………………..………. 
 
Ex. By…..……..…..App. By…………..….... 
 
Issued…………..……………………………. 
 
Original……..…….Relicensing……..……… 
 

Resident        __________ 
Non-Resident__________ 
Identify Home State:__________ 
Identify Home State License #__________ (If Home State is Not NY) 

1. 
Name of Applicant 

 

                                                                      Entity Name in Full                                                                                                    Fed. Employer ID No.* 
 

Principal Business 
Address (Required) 

 National Producer No. 
(If Assigned) 

                           Street and Number (Required)                                                       P.O. Box (if any) 

                                  City, Town or Village                                                  County                       State                  Zip Code                 Telephone No. 
 
Mailing Address 
(Required)(Indicate if 

   

 Same as Business) Street and Number  P.O. Box (if any) 
 
 

   

                                  City, Town or Village                                                      County                      State                                           Zip Code                 
(If either address changes, this Department must be notified in writing immediately.) 

 

2. Indicate if your entity is a       _______ Corporation         _______ Partnership**         _______ Limited Liability Company 
 **If Partnership – at least 2 partners/members are required 
  
3. Broker’s License number under Section 2104 of the Insurance Law (if already licensed)_____________________________________________ 

 
4. Name of largest county in New York State in which applicant maintains an office or in which risks are located upon which applicant proposes to 

place insurance as an excess line broker:_________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

5. List all officers/directors/partners/members/managers and give information requested below.  If sub-licensee/designated responsible person, 
check box(es) at the right and list before others; employees are not eligible.  (Only officers/directors/partners/members/managers who are 
named as sub-licensees/designated responsible persons in the license held by the entity as an insurance broker may be named as 
sub-licensee/designated responsible person in a license pursuant to this application.) 
 

(a) Name  (Last, First, M.I.) Title of Officer/Director Social Security No* Date of Birth Sex 
M__   F__ 

Residence:  Number and Street (Required)                P. O. Box (If any) City State Zip Code Sub-licensee/Designated 
Responsible Person? 
Yes_______   No_______ 

 

(b) Name  (Last, First, M.I.) Title of Officer/Director Social Security No* Date of Birth Sex 
M__   F__ 

Residence:  Number and Street (Required)                P. O. Box (If any) City State Zip Code Sub-licensee/Designated 
Responsible Person? 
Yes_______   No_______ 

 
 
 

                                          
 
*  See Privacy Notification on Page 4.                                                                                               
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5. (CONTD.) 
(c) Name  (Last, First, M.I.) Title of Officer/Director Social Security No* Date of Birth Sex 

M__   F__ 

Residence:  Number and Street (Required)                P. O. Box (If any) City State Zip Code Sub-licensee/Designated 
Responsible Person? 
Yes_______   No_______ 

 

(d) Name  (Last, First, M.I.) Title of Officer/Director Social Security No* Date of Birth Sex 
M__   F__ 

Residence:  Number and Street (Required)                P. O. Box (If any) City State Zip Code Sub-licensee/Designated 
Responsible Person? 
Yes_______   No_______ 

 

(e) Name  (Last, First, M.I.) Title of Officer/Director Social Security No* Date of Birth Sex 
M__   F__ 

Residence:  Number and Street (Required)                P. O. Box (If any) City State Zip Code Sub-licensee/Designated 
Responsible Person? 
Yes_______   No_______ 

    
 

6. Identify all owners with at least 10% interest or voting interest of the business entity: 

 Name  
S 

SSN/FEIN  Date of Birth  Title 

        

        

        

        

 

7. If corporate applicant - attach a copy of its Charter or Certificate of Incorporation which confers upon it the right to act as an insurance broker; 
also attach a copy of the corporation’s Department of State filing receipt, unless previously submitted. 
 

If partnership applicant – attach a copy of its Business Certificate from the County Clerk’s Office in which the business address is located, unless 
previously submitted. 
 

If limited liability company applicant – attach a copy of its Articles of Organization.  Also attach a copy of the Department of State filing receipt, 
unless previously submitted. 

 

8. Is the business entity or any of its officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner licensed as an excess line broker or agent in any 
state, territory, or possession of the United States?...................................................................................................................... 

 

  Yes or No 
 If “Yes” provide the state, territory or possession of the United States:__________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

9. Are any of the individuals named in 5 or 6 under obligation to pay child support? ………...…………………….…………………………..  
  Yes or No 
 If “Yes,” attach signed child support obligation form for each individual under such obligation.  
 
10. If any of the following questions are answered “YES,” an explanation must be attached. 

 
 (a) Has the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner named in 5 or 6 ever been convicted of a 

crime, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or is the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner 
named in 5 or 6 currently charged with committing a crime? …………………..……..…………………………….………………... 

 

   
“Crime” includes a misdemeanor, felony or a military offense.  You may exclude misdemeanor traffic citations or convictions 
involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving, or 
driving with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses.  “Convicted” includes, but is not limited to, having been 
found guilty by verdict of a judge or jury, having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, or having been given probation, 
a suspended sentence or a fine. 
 

Yes or No 

 (b) Has the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner named in 5 or 6 ever been named or 
involved as a party in an administrative proceeding regarding any professional or occupational license or registration?..…… 

 

   
“Involved” means having a license censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated; or, being assessed a fine, a cease 
and desist order, a prohibition order, a compliance order, placed on probation or surrendering a license to resolve an 
administrative action.  “Involved” also means being named as a party to an administrative or arbitration proceeding which is 
related to a professional or occupational license.  “Involved” also means having a license application denied or the act of 
withdrawing an application to avoid a denial.  EXCLUDE terminations due solely to noncompliance with continuing 
education requirements or failure to pay a renewal fee. 
 

Yes or No 
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10. (CONTD.) 
 (c) Has any demand been made or judgment rendered against the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/ 

manager/owner named in 5 or 6 for overdue monies by an insurer, insured or producer, or ever been subject to a bankruptcy 
proceeding?  Do not include personal bankruptcies unless they involve funds held on behalf of others. ………..……..………… 

 

   Yes or No 
 (d) Has the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner named in 5 or 6 ever been notified by any 

jurisdiction to which the business entity is applying of any delinquent tax obligation that is not the subject of a repayment 
agreement?...............................................................................................................................................................................…. 

 

   
If you answer yes, identify the jurisdiction(s):________________________________________________________________ 
 

Yes or No 

 (e) Is the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner named in 5 or 6 a party to, or ever been found 
liable in any lawsuit, arbitration or mediation proceeding involving allegations of fraud, misappropriation or conversion of 
funds, misrepresentation or breach of fiduciary duty?………………….………………..……………………….……………………… 

 

   Yes or No 
 (f) Has the business entity or any officer/director/partner/member/manager/owner named in 5 or 6 ever had an insurance 

agency contract or any other business relationship with an insurance company terminated for any alleged misconduct?……... 
 

   Yes or No 
 

 

11. RELICENSING APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THIS QUESTION.  
 

 

Since expiration of its last authority, has this applicant transacted business in New York State for the license being applied for in 
this application?.……………………………………………………………………………………………………..……………………………. 

 

 
 

Yes or No 

Applicant Certification and Attestation 
The undersigned Sub-licensees/Designated Responsible Person(s) hereby certifies, under penalty of perjury that: 
 
 All of the information submitted in this application and attachments is true and complete and (I am) or (We are) aware that 

submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in connection with this application is grounds for license 
or registration revocation and may subject me/us and the business entity to civil or criminal penalties. 

 Where required by law, the business entity hereby designates the Commissioner, Director, or Superintendent of Financial 
Services, or an appropriate representative in each jurisdiction for which this application is made to be its agent for service of 
process regarding all insurance matters in the respective jurisdiction and agree that service upon the Commissioner, Director, or 
Superintendent of that jurisdiction is of the same legal force and validity as personal service upon the business entity. 

 The business entity grants permission to the Commissioner, Director, or Superintendent of Financial Services in each jurisdiction 
for which this application is made to verify any information supplied with any federal, state or local government agency, current or 
former employer or insurance company. 

 The jurisdictions are hereby authorized to give any information they may have concerning (me) or (us) to any federal, state or 
municipal agency, or any other organization as referenced in Section 110 of the New York State Insurance Law  and the 
jurisdictions and any person acting on their behalf are hereby released from any and all liability of whatever nature by reason of 
furnishing such information. 

 It is acknowledged that (I) or (We) understand and comply with the insurance laws and regulations of the jurisdictions to which is 
being applied for licensure/registration. 

 For Non-Resident License Applicants, it is certified that (I) or (we) have been licensed within the last ninety (90) days and in 
good standing in the home state/resident state for the lines of authority requested from the non-resident state. 

 
 

THIS APPLICATION MUST BE VERIFIED AND 
SIGNED BY ALL OFFICERS AND 

DIRECTORS NAMED AS SUBLICENSEES/ 
DESIGNATED RESPONSIBLE PERSONS 

    

  Name of Entity 

  Signature of Sub-licensee/Designated Responsible Person 
 
 

   Signature of Sub-licensee/Designated Responsible Person 

     Signature of Sub-licensee/Designated Responsible Person 

                                                      Signature of Sub-licensee/Designated Responsible Person 
 
 

  Signature of Sub-licensee/Designated Responsible Person 

 

Make Check Payable to Superintendent of Financial Services 
 
                                          
  *  See Privacy Notification on Page 4.                                                                                         
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DATED ______________________________ 
 
 
 
 

E-Mail 
Address:______________________________ 
 
 
 
 

URL WebSite: _________________________ 
 
 



 
*  *  CHILD  SUPPORT  NOTIFICATION  *  * 

 
Persons four (4) months in arrears in child support or who have failed to comply with a summons, subpoena, or 

warrant relating to paternity or child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their business, professional, 
driver, and/or recreational licenses and permits including, but not limited to, licenses pursuant to §11-0713 of the 
Environmental Law. 

 
Intentional submission of false statements for the purposes of frustrating/defeating lawful enforcement of support 

obligations is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law. 
 
 

*  *  PRIVACY  NOTIFICATION  *  * 
 

Pursuant to Article 1, Section 5 of the New York State Tax Law, it is mandatory that you report your Social 
Security Number and/or Employer Identification Number.  Your failure to respond may be reported to the Department of 
Taxation and Finance.  These tax identification numbers are being collected to enable the Department of Taxation & 
Finance to identify entities which are delinquent in or have understated their tax liabilities, and may be used for any 
purpose authorized by the Tax Law.  They will be maintained by the Director, Licensing Services Bureau, New York 
State Dept. of Financial Services, One Commerce Plaza, Albany, New York  12257.   Telephone:  (518) 474-6630. 

 
The New York State Dept. of Financial Services will, absent your written objection, which must be attached to 

this application, provide these tax identification numbers to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners for 
inclusion in its Producer Database. 
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CHILD SUPPORT OBLIGATION FORM 
 
 
 
 

____________________________________ 
Name of Entity on Application (Please Print) 
 
 
____________________________  ___________  ___________________ 
Name of Individual (Please Print)  Date of Birth  Social Security Number 
 
 
            Yes No 
Are you under obligation to pay child support?         O O 
 
If “yes,” (a) Are you current or less than 4 months in arrears?       O O 
 (b) Are you paying by income execution plan agreed to by courts or parties?    O O 
 (c) Is the obligation subject of pending court proceeding?      O O 
 (d) Are you receiving public assistance or supplemental security income?    O O 
 
If answer to the question regarding obligation to pay child support is “yes,” one of the answers to a-d must be 
“yes” or license will expire six months from the effective date of this license unless you notify the 
Department by that time which answer has changed to “yes.” 
 
Persons four months in arrears in child support or who have failed to comply with a summons, subpoena or 
warrant relating to paternity or child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their business, 
professional, driver and/or recreational license and permits including but not limited to, licenses issued 
pursuant to §11-0713 of the Environmental Conservation Law. 
 
Intentional submission of false statements for purposes of frustrating/defeating lawful enforcement of 
support obligations is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law. 
 
 
 
 
Under penalty of perjury, I affirm that I have read this form and affirm that the information given on this 
form is true and hereby subscribe thereto. 
 
 
      ____________________________________ 
        Signature 
 
      ____________________________________ 
         Date 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This form may be reproduced 
 
csoform2.doc 


