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STATE OF NEW YORK
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
25 BEAVER STREET
NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10004
Eliot Spitzer Eric R. Dinallo
Governor Superintendent
May 8, 2007

RE: Definition of Initial Pretrial Hearing in Insurance Law § 2110(j)

I write in response to your inquiry, which asks whether an arraignment constitutes an
“initial pretrial hearing,” as the term is used in N.Y. Ins. Law § 2110(j) (McKinney 2007).

QUESTION PRESENTED:

Does an arraignment constitute an “initial pretrial hearing” within the meaning of
Insurance Law § 2110()?

CONCLUSION:

Yes. An arraignment constitutes an “initial pretrial hearing” under Insurance Law

§ 2110()).

FACTS:

You report that you are counsel to an individual who is a licensee of this Department.
The licensee was recently accused and arrested on felony larceny and other related charges.
Although you were not certain whether the term “initial pretrial hearing,” as used in the
Insurance Law, refers to an arraignment, you advised your client to report the incident to the
Department within 30 days of her arraignment. You ask the Department’s Oftice of General
Counsel to confirm your interpretation of the Insurance Law.

ANALYSIS:

Insurance Law § 2110 governs the revocation or suspension of the licenses of insurance
producers, insurance consultants, and insurance adjusters. Specifically, Insurance Law § 2110())

requires an insurance producer to report any criminal prosecution of the licensee in any
jurisdiction. That provision states:

(1) Within thirty days of the initial pretrial hearing date, a licensee
subject to this article shall report 1o the superintendent any eriminal



prosecution of the licensee taken in any jurisdiction. The report
shall include a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order
resulting from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents.

Thus, within 30 days of an “initial pretrial hearing,” a licensee of the Department must report any
criminal prosecution in any jurisdiction to the Department. However, nothing in the Insurance

Law, nor any other law in the State of New York, defines or uses the term “initial pretrial
hearing.”

Modeled on § 17 of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC)
Producer Licensing Model Act, Insurance Law § 2110(j) was enacted in 2003, and became
effective in 2004. The Memorandum in Support of the bill provides:

[Plromoting uniformity in state licensing procedures remains a
worthwhile goal. Codifying state reciprocal agreements and
eliminating unimportant differences and terminology in agency
licensing brings greater certainty and efficiency to the business of
insurance and eases multi-state operations that are now
commonplace. Formalizing information sharing among regulators
and establishing protocols for interagency cooperation and prompt
reporting of disciplinary actions will help maintain the integrity of
the regulatory framework that now must protect consumers from
disreputable producers who or which may be licensed in multiple
states. 2003 N.Y. Laws 687.

It is clear, therefore, that in enacting Insurance Law § 2110(j), the legislature was less
concerned with terminology than achieving uniformity with the licensing procedures of the other
states. Viewed through this prism, the term “initial pretrial hearing,” while not defined in the
New York Insurance Law specifically (or in any other New York statute), is plainly intended to
encompass a defendant’s initial court appearance in a criminal action in any jurisdiction.

The New York Criminal Procedure Law (CPL) § 1.20 (McKinney Supp. 2007) defines an
“arraignment” as follows:

9. "Arraignment" means the occasion upon which a defendant
against whom an accusatory instrument has been filed appears
before the court in which the criminal action is pending for the
purpose of having such court acquire and exercise control over his
person with respect to such accusatory instrument and of setting
the course of further proceedings in the action.

An arraignment is the first time that a defendant accused of a crime appears before a court. In
fact, it is entircly possible for a criminal case to go to trial without any other hearing after an
arraignment.  For these reasons, the Department considers an arraignment to be an “initial
pretrial hearing™ that triggers the 30-day requirement under Insurance Law § 2110(j).



Very truly yours,

Sapna S. Maloor
Assistant Attorney





