Skip to Content

Translate | Disclaimer

Department of Financial Services logo

Industry Letters

Annual Maximum Check Casher Fee

February 13, 2009

To the Licensed Check Casher Addressed:

Re: Annual Maximum Check Casher Fee


Part 400.11 of the Superintendent’s Regulations provides for a possible increased annual fee adjustment, based on the increase in the consumer price index for the New York-Northern New Jersey–Long Island, NY-NJ-CT-PA area for all urban consumers.

Pursuant to Section 372(3) of the Banking Law and Part 400.11 of the Superintendent’s Regulations, this is to advise you that effective March 2, 2009, the maximum fee that licensed check cashers may charge for cashing a check will be increased from 1.75 percent of the face amount of the check to 1.82 percent, except with respect to the cashing of checks, drafts or money orders for payees of such checks, drafts or money orders that are other than natural persons.

Please revise your signage accordingly.

Sincerely,

Signature of Richard H. Neiman

Richard H. Neiman
Superintendent of Banks
New York State Banking Department

About DFS

Contact DFS

Reports & Publications

Licensing

Laws and Regs

Connect With DFS

DFS Facebook page

Follow NYDFS on Twitter