agent broker

Individual Insurance License Application

SHARE

Insurance License Application – Individual or TBA

The Department is authorized to license those who wish to operate as insurance agents, brokers and consultants, independent adjusters and public adjusters, and others as defined in New York Insurance Laws.

All Individuals and individuals with trade names (TBA) applying for an insurance license must apply online via NY LINX.

Non-resident licensing is available to first time non-resident applicants applying for an INDIVIDUAL license through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website.

Trade Name Approval

To avoid duplicate or misleading names, an individual applying with a trade name must obtain Department approval to use the trade name prior to submitting the license application. Requests for name approval must be submitted to the Department by emailing [email protected]. In your request, include the applicant’s name, the trade name, and the type of license for which you are applying. Approval or disapproval will be sent with additional instructions.

Minimum Requirements

To apply for a license, an applicant must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older.
  • Complete prelicensing education requirements.
  • Pass the applicable New York State examination within 2 years of applying for the license.
  • Submit a completed license application to the Department within two years of passing the exam. An applicant may apply for multiple classes of licenses simultaneously, if qualified, but cannot apply for a class of license they previously held.
  • Pay the licensing fee. Payment options are credit card, electronic funds transfer (e-check) or paper check.

For detailed requirements, select from the list of available licenses below:

Insurance Licensing Applications