Tropical Depression IDA

The Governor has declared a state of emergency in the following areas: Bronx, Duchess, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.

The authority of the temporary permit is limited to claims for damages from Tropical Storm Ida, in above counties only.

DFS expects insurers to:

  • Promptly process and investigate insurance claims made by claimants;
  • Allow claimants to provide as reasonable proof items such as: photographs or video recordings (without the need for a physical inspection); material samples, if applicable; inventories; and receipts for any repairs to or replacement of property; and
  • Allow claimants to make immediate repairs to damaged property if necessary, to protect health or safety.

Once you have received the login ID information, visit the DFS Portal to process the Temporary Adjuster Permit request. Instructions are available within the application:

To view the Governor’s statement go to governor-hochul-requests-federal-emergency-declaration-14-downstate-counties.