November 27, 1979


Circular Letter No. 30 (1979)




Section 33-a of the Insurance Law, as amended by Chapter 570 of the Laws of 1978, requires the Insurance Department to maintain an index of tax districts which pursuant to the provisions of Section 22 of the General Municipal Law have filed with this Department "notice of intention to claim against the proceeds of a policy of fire insurance insuring the interest of an owner in any premises located therein against which a lien for real property taxes or other municipal charges exist." Under Section 22 of the General Municipal Law one or two family residential structures are excluded.

Circular Letter 19 of this Department dated July 17, 1979 included a list of tax districts which have filed with this Department a notice of intention to claim against fire insurance proceeds. An updated list is now attached. As additional tax districts file, the names of the officials who should be contacted will be available in the Tax Districts Records Office of this Department.

The provisions of Section 33-a of the Insurance Law require that prior to the payment of a loss, insurers must notify the enforcing officer of the tax district in which such property is located that a loss has been sustained and demand that a certificate setting forth the amount of all liens against the property including interest and penalties, be served upon the insurer "within twenty days from the date of receipt of such demand." The law further provides that "Within ten days of receipt of such certificate of lien and a final determination of the insurer's obligation to pay such proceeds, the insurer shall pay therefrom the amounts specified in the certificate to the enforcing officer." It should be emphasized that this Department has not approved the adoption by insurers of any other procedure for complying with this law.

Acknowledgment of this letter and inquiries with respect to new tax districts that have filed with this Department should be addressed to:

Mr. Herbert F. Campbell

Tax District Records Office

N.Y.S. Insurance Department

2 World Trade Center

New York, NY 10047

Phone (212) 488-3838 / 488-7578

Very truly yours,



Superintendent of Insurance





City of New York

Ms. Dorothy Joseph

City Collector

NYC Department of Finance

139 Centre Street

New York, NY 10013

(212) 566 3947

City of Rochester

Mr. Louis N. Kash

Corporation Counsel

City of Rochester

400A City Hall

Rochester, NY 14614

(716) 428 6986

City of Syracuse

Mr. Frank L. Canino

Commissioner of Finance

City of Syracuse

106 City Hall

Syracuse, NY 13202

City of Newburgh

Ms. Marlene A. Koisch, City Clk.

City of Newburgh

City Hall

Newburgh, NY 12550

(914) 565 3209

City of Long Beach

Mrs. Catherine Pirrone

City Hall

One West Chester St.

Long Beach, NY 11561

(516) 431 1000 Ext. 233

City of Yonkers

Mr. Fred A. Schnur,


City of Yonkers

City Hall

Yonkers, NY 10701

(914) 963 3980 Exts. 321 & 322

City of Buffalo

Ms. Margaret Anderson

Assistant Corporation Counsel

Mayor's Task Force on Housing

Frank A. Sedita City Ct. Bldg.

Buffalo, NY 14202

(716) 847 8256

City of Utica

Mr. Louis A. Barile, City Treas

City of Utica

One Kennedy Plaza

Utica, NY 13502

(315) 798-3210

City of Troy

Mr. Anton L. Miorin,

City Treasurer

City Hall

One Monument Square

Troy, NY 12180

(518) 270 4406

Suffolk County

Ms. Jean H. Tuthill

Suffolk County Treasurer

Suffolk County Center

Riverhead, NY 11901

Orange County

Mr. Raymond A. Schwarz

Commissioner of Finance

Orange County Government Ctr.

Goshen, NY 10924

(914) 294 5151 Ext. 120

Wyoming County

Mrs. Shirley T. Holbrook, Trea.

County of Wyoming

Wyoming County Treasurers Office

Court House Bldg.

Warsaw, NY 14569

Chautauqua County

Mr. Lorron G. Caryl

Finance Director

County Office Bldg.

Mayville, NY 14757

(716) 753 4223

Village of Spring Valley

Ms. Julia Jacaruso, Clerk-Treas.

Village of Spring Valley

Rockland County, NY 10977

Village of Williamsville

Ms. Theresa L. Cummins

Village Clerk-Treasurer

Village of Williamsville

5583 Main Street

Williamsville, NY 14221

(716) 632 4120

Village of Liberty

Mrs. Emmagene Travis


Municipal Building

Village of Liberty

Liberty, NY 12754

(914) 292-6820

Wayne County

Mrs. Lois Van Hoover

Wayne County Treasurer

9 PearlStreet

Lyons, NY 14489

(315) 946 4823

Orleans County

Ms. Mary B. Basinait

Orleans County Treasurer

Court House

Albion, NY 14411

(716) 589 5353

Village of Hempstead

Mr. Frank E. DeSetto

Village Clerk-Treasurer

Village of Hempstead

99 Nicholas Court

Hempstead, NY 11551

(516) 489 3400

Village of Green Island

Mr. Francis X. Houle, III

Deputy Treasurer

Village of Green Island

20 Clinton Street

Green Island, NY 12183

Village of Kenmore

Ms. Phyllis Higgins

Village Clerk Treasurer

Village of Kenmore

2919 Delaware Avenue

Kenmore, NY 14217

(716) 873 5700

City of Middletown

Mr. Nicholas F. Vuolo

City Clerk/Treasurer

City Hall

16 James Street

Middletown, New York 10940

(914) 343-3187

Village of Malone

Mr. Edgar H. French

Village Clerk/Treasurer

Malone Village Office

14 Elm Street

Malone, New York 12953

(518) 483-4570

Village of Freeport

Mr. James Lyons,

Village Treasurer

46 North Ocean Avenue

Freeport, New York 11520

(516) 378-4000