People at a table advising each other

DFS Superintendent Adrienne A. Harris Relaunches Consumer Protection Advisory Council with Expanded Membership

Superintendent Adrienne A. Harris Relaunches Consumer Protection Advisory Council with Expanded Membership

Today, Superintendent Adrienne A. Harris announced the relaunch of the New York State Department of Financial Services (DFS) Consumer Protection Advisory Council. The membership of the advisory council has been expanded to bring a more diverse set of perspectives together, representing the diversity of New York consumers. The first meeting of the relaunched Advisory Council took place on September 30.  

“Engagement with all stakeholders is a critical component of the new DFS we are building where policymaking is data driven and collaborative,” said Superintendent Harris. “The expanded, more diverse Consumer Protection Advisory Council will aid the Department in making decisions that are transparent and fair, and in surfacing the best solutions for individuals, families, and small businesses, no matter their location, age, gender, sexual orientation, race, or ethnicity.”  

The following individuals are serving on the Department’s new Consumer Protection Advisory Council:  

  • Chuck Bell, Consumer Reports 

  • Elizabeth Benjamin, Community Service Society  

  • Rev. Mark E. Blue, Buffalo NAACP* 

  • Mike Calhoun, Center for Responsible Lending* 

  • Joseph Canovas, New York State AFL-CIO* 

  • Alexandria Chun, Student Assembly of the State University of New York*  

  • Carolyn Coffey, Mobilization for Justice 

  • Carolyn Fast, The Century Foundation* 

  • Beth Finkel, New York State Office, AARP 

  • Anthony Gaddy, Upstate New York Black Chamber of Commerce* 

  • Ann L. Goldweber, St. John’s University School of Law* 

  • Jacob (Jay) Inwald, Legal Services NYC 

  • Paul Kantwill, Loyola University Chicago School of Law 

  • Neha M. Karambelkar, Western New York Law Center 

  • Kirsten E. Keefe, Empire Justice Center 

  • Katie M. Keith, Out2Enroll* 

  • Peter Kochenburger, University of Connecticut Law School  

  • Frankie Miranda, Hispanic Federation  

  • Mike Pierce, Student Borrower Protection Center* 

  • Hasani Pratt, Higher Heights for America* 

  • Cy Richardson, National Urban League  

  • Ana Rua, Crown Castle* 

  • Lauren Saunders, National Consumer Law Center* 

  • Yevgeny Shrago, Public Citizen’s Climate Program*  

  • Barika Williams, Association for Neighborhood and Housing Development* 

*Denotes new member  

DFS’s Consumer Protection Advisory Council advises the Department on its work related to the financial wellbeing of households and small businesses in New York. The Advisory Council’s members provide expertise on a wide array of topics that relate to the Department’s commitment to protecting and empowering consumers, including ensuring access to to affordable financial services, stopping fraud and abusive practices, and supporting wealth building.  

A full list of the Advisory Council members can be found on the DFS website.