
 

 

 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

NEW YORK STATE 
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

THIRD AMENDMENT TO REGULATION 68-C 
(11 NYCRR 65-3) 

CLAIMS FOR PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION BENEFITS 

I, Eric R. Dinallo, Acting Superintendent of Insurance of the State of New York, 
pursuant to the authority granted under Sections 201, 301, 2601, 5106, and 5221 of the 
Insurance Law and Section 2407 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, do hereby promulgate 
the following Third Amendment to subpart 65-3 of Title 11 of the Official Compilation of 
Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (Regulation 68-C) to take effect 
upon publication in the State Register, to read as follows: 

(Matter in bracket is deleted; new matter is underlined) 

Subdivisions (b) and (c) of Section 65-3.12 is amended to read as follows: 

(b) If a dispute regarding priority of payment arises among insurers who 
otherwise are liable for the payment of first-party benefits, then the first insurer to whom 
notice of claim is given pursuant to section 65-3.3 or 65-3.4(a) of this Subpart, by or on 
behalf of an eligible injured person, shall be responsible for payment to such person. 
Any such dispute shall be resolved in accordance with the arbitration procedures 
established pursuant to section 5105 of the Insurance Law and section 65-4.11 of this 
Part. Each insurer that concludes that it was not the first insurer contacted to provide 
first party benefits shall issue a denial of claim form (NF-10) that includes the following 
statement in box 33: 

If after contacting the insurer that we advised you has primary responsibility for 
the payment of first party benefits, that insurer denies coverage for your claim, 
you have the option to submit this dispute for expedited arbitration by providing a 
copy of the denial form and a written request along with a $40.00 filing fee to the 
organization listed under option two on the back of this form. Your $40.00 filing 
fee will be refunded to you by the insurer determined to be responsible for 
processing your claim. This arbitration is limited solely to determining the insurer 
to process your claim, and it will not resolve issues regarding pending bills or 
consider any other defense to payment. You do not need to submit bills for this 
arbitration. 

(c) If the source of first-party benefits is at issue because the status of the injured 
person as a pedestrian or an occupant of a motor vehicle is in dispute, the insurer to 
whom notice of claim was given or if such notice was given to more than one insurer, 
the first insurer to whom notice was given shall, within 15 calendar days after receipt of 
notice, obtain an agreement with the other insurer or insurers as to which insurer will 
furnish no-fault benefits. If such an agreement is not reached within the aforementioned 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

15 days, then the insurer to whom such notice was first given shall process the claim 
and pay first-party benefits and resolve the dispute in accordance with the arbitration 
procedures established pursuant to section 5105 of the Insurance Law and section 65-
4.11 of this Part. Each insurer that concludes that it was not the first insurer contacted to 
provide first party benefits shall issue a denial of claim form (NF-10) that includes the 
following statement in box 33: 

If after contacting the insurer that we advised you has primary responsibility for 
the payment of first party benefits, that insurer denies coverage for your claim, 
you have the option to submit this dispute for expedited arbitration by providing a 
copy of the denial form and a written request along with a $40.00 filing fee to the 
organization listed under option two on the back of this form. Your $40.00 filing 
fee will be refunded to you by the insurer determined to be responsible for 
processing your claim. This arbitration is limited solely to determining the insurer 
to process your claim, and it will not resolve issues regarding pending bills or 
consider any other defense to payment. You do not need to submit bills for this 
arbitration. 

Paragraphs (2), (3) and (4) of Section 65-3.13(a) are amended to read as follows: 

(2) An applicant who is a named insured or a relative of a named insured 
covered by additional personal injury protection benefits, and who, while an 
operator or occupant of a motor vehicle, sustains a personal injury arising out 
of the use or operation of such motor vehicle outside of New York State, shall 
institute the claim against the insurer of the named insured or the relative. 
Where there is more than one insurer which would be the source of benefits, 
the first such insurer applied to shall process the claim, unless the insurers 
agree among themselves that another such insurer will accept and pay the 
claim initially. (See subdivision (b) of this section.) If the insurers do not reach 
an agreement, then each insurer that concludes it was not the first insurer 
contacted to provide first party benefits shall issue a denial of claim form (NF-
10) that includes the following statement in box 33: 

If after contacting the insurer that we advised you has primary 
responsibility for the payment of first party benefits, that insurer denies 
coverage for your claim, you have the option to submit this dispute for 
expedited arbitration by providing a copy of the denial form and a written 
request along with a $40.00 filing fee to the organization listed under 
option two on the back of this form. Your $40.00 filing fee will be refunded 
to you by the insurer determined to be responsible for processing your 
claim. This arbitration is limited solely to determining the insurer to 
process your claim, and it will not resolve issues regarding pending bills or 
consider any other defense to payment. You do not need to submit bills for 
this arbitration. 



 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

(3) An applicant who is a named insured or a relative of a named insured 
covered for additional personal injury protection benefits, and who is neither 
an operator nor an occupant of a motor vehicle or a motorcycle, and who 
sustains a personal injury through the use or operation of a motor vehicle or a 
motorcycle shall institute the claim against the insurer of the named insured 
or the relative. Where there is more than one insurer which would be the 
source of benefits, the first such insurer applied to shall process the claim, 
unless the insurers agree among themselves that another such insurer will 
accept and pay the claim initially. (See subdivision (b) of this section.) If the 
insurers do not reach an agreement, then each insurer that concludes it was 
not the first insurer contacted to provide first party benefits shall issue a denial 
of claim form (NF-10) that includes the following statement in box 33: 

If after contacting the insurer that we advised you has primary 
responsibility for the payment of first party benefits, that insurer denies 
coverage for your claim, you have the option to submit this dispute for 
expedited arbitration by providing a copy of the denial form and a written 
request along with a $40.00 filing fee to the organization listed under 
option two on the back of this form. Your $40.00 filing fee will be refunded 
to you by the insurer determined to be responsible for processing your 
claim. This arbitration is limited solely to determining the insurer to 
process your claim, and it will not resolve issues regarding pending bills or 
consider any other defense to payment. You do not need to submit bills for 
this arbitration. 

(4) An applicant who is not a named insured or a relative of a named insured 
covered for additional personal injury protection benefits, and who is an 
occupant of an insured motor vehicle covered for additional personal injury 
protection benefits or a motor vehicle operated by a person covered for 
additional personal injury protection benefits, and who sustains a personal 
injury through the use or operation of the insured motor vehicle outside of 
New York State, shall institute the claim against the insurer of the owner or 
operator of the insured motor vehicle. Where there is more than one insurer 
which would be the source of benefits, the first such insurer applied to shall 
process the claim unless the insurers agree among themselves that another 
such insurer will accept and pay the claim initially. (See subdivision (b) of this 
section.) If the insurers do not reach an agreement, then each insurer that 
concludes it was not the first insurer contacted to provide first party benefits 
shall issue a denial of claim form (NF-10) that includes the following 
statement in box 33: 

If after contacting the insurer that we advised you has primary 
responsibility for the payment of first party benefits, that insurer denies 
coverage for your claim, you have the option to submit this dispute for 
expedited arbitration by providing a copy of the denial form and a written 
request along with a $40.00 filing fee to the organization listed under 



 

 

 

 
 

 
 

option two on the back of this form. Your $40.00 filing fee will be refunded 
to you by the insurer determined to be responsible for processing your 
claim. This arbitration is limited solely to determining the insurer to 
process your claim, and it will not resolve issues regarding pending bills or 
consider any other defense to payment. You do not need to submit bills for 
this arbitration. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

         

 
 

 

I, Eric R. Dinallo, Acting Superintendent of Insurance of the State of New York, 
do hereby certify that the foregoing is the Third Amendment to subpart 65-3 of Title 11 
of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York 
(Regulation 68-C), entitled “Claims for Personal Injury Protection Benefits”, promulgated 
by me on February 22, 2007, pursuant to the authority granted by Sections 201, 301, 
2601, 5106, and 5221 of the Insurance Law and Section 2407 of the Vehicle and Traffic 
Law, to take effect upon publication in the State Register. 

Pursuant to the provisions of the State Administrative Procedure Act, prior notice 
of the proposed amendment was published in the State Register on December 27, 
2006. No other publication or prior notice is required by statute. 

         ________________________________ 
Eric R. Dinallo 

         Acting Superintendent of Insurance 

February 22, 2007 




